PDA

View Full Version : Tapping Huge Maples

Greenrugger
01-06-2020, 07:15 PM
Looking for advice....I was given access to an old homestead that has 50 of the largest maples I have ever seen. The smallest is easily 30” dia and the largest is pushing over +48” planted in 3 neat rows all by themselves on about an acre and a half. In the middle of a flat field. With no other trees around so each has a huge canopy.

My question is how many gravity taps can I put on each tree? Landowner indicated he is likely to remove the trees in the next 3-5yrs so there is no long term tree health concerns. Does the 3 tap rule still apply? Will sap flow increase by adding more taps per tree or just max out? Curious before I set up a gravity line. I was thinking 5-6 taps per tree....on a single 5/16 going to a mainline, even then they would spaced out at 2-3’ around the trunk. I’ve never used vacuum before but would the investment in a 12v system pay for itself if I only have a few years to tap?

Mead Maple
01-06-2020, 07:27 PM
Green I would stick to the 3 rule just in case his plans change. You would not want to be the one responsible for jeopardizing a stash of old growth beauties. Put the vacuum to them and watch it flow!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

canaanmaple
01-06-2020, 09:11 PM
Looking for advice....I was given access to an old homestead that has 50 of the largest maples I have ever seen. The smallest is easily 30” dia and the largest is pushing over +48” planted in 3 neat rows all by themselves on about an acre and a half. In the middle of a flat field. With no other trees around so each has a huge canopy.