PDA

View Full Version : Aluminum evaporator pan?

parrothead600
04-09-2019, 11:48 AM
My current evaporator pan is a mild steel pan that is probably 50+ years old. I have been using it for the past 18 years. This year, it started leaking and it is beyond repair. I would like to get a stainless steel pan to replace it, but I have a hard time trying to justify the cost. I only do this for a hobby. I normally end up with less than 8 gallons of syrup in a year which I save for my own use and give to friends for Christmas.
I currently have access to a large sheet of aluminum, which I believe is 12 guage. Is there reason that I would not want to have a pan made out of aluminum?

saphead
04-09-2019, 04:52 PM
Aluminum is a neurotoxin and shouldn't be used in any type of food processing !!

regor0
04-09-2019, 05:54 PM
Sell the sheet of aluminum and buy a sheet of stainless. 12g aluminum for 20 to 22g stainless should close to equal in price give or take a few bucks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ecolbeck
04-09-2019, 06:20 PM
Aluminum is a neurotoxin and shouldn't be used in any type of food processing !!

Aluminum is a neurotoxin but I think that conclusion is a little overblown. Can you site a source?

I wonder if the main problem is that aluminum welding is challenging and the cost savings would be minimal compared to stainless?

ecolbeck
04-09-2019, 06:25 PM
I should add that aluminum is reactive to acids and sap can be somewhat acidic.

Woody77
04-09-2019, 08:06 PM
That's funny I just ate green beans and gravy made in aluminum pots in my kitchen. Pots that I got out of a restuarant.
If you'd have asked if you could have used copper , English tin , stainless, glass you'll still get some crazy warning. Look up the pros and cons online and do what works best for you.
By the way stainless has nickel migration. Nickel is not good in the system. Found that out doing research on making apple cider vinegar. Nothing is truly safe so grab some scissors and stretch. Lol.