PDA

View Full Version : New Evaporator Questions

NHnewbie
03-25-2019, 10:57 PM
Let me start and say I am new to this all, but I have seem to quickly caught the bug. I bought a barrel evaporator from a local guy who makes them, and he made a stainless baffled continuous flow pan. After looking back I think was a little too exuberant in buying such a pan, because I only intend to do this as a hobby. Regardless, here is my situation and question.. The pan is 22"x 19" w/baffles for the gradients to form. I boiled about 15 gallons last week and I had a homemade warming pan constantly adding sap on one end to keep the level consistent and the boil going. I know that hadn't boiled enough for a draw, but I didn't have time for to boil all 50 gallons of sap, so i finished on propane. But i noticed after 15 gallons, I could see a difference in color, but no gradient seemed to be forming, in other words the two baffles nearest the draw point, seemed to be the same color. Should I have even seen a difference yet or does it take more sap to get a gradient formed?

Also, if in the future, could I stop my boil without a gradient formed, and pick up the next day, similar to the idea as if the pan had been sweetened, or should i finish on propane like I did?

Lastly, as a hobbyist, next year I intend on tapping more trees, but I'm not sure if I will boil more than once weekly, is it worth having a second pan built to match my evaporator to use just as a batch boil pan, or does it make sense to sweeten the pan and try to use it as it was intended even if my boils will be spread out by a few days? I think this is where my over excitement in buying a setup too soon may have gotten the better of me...

snakes14009
03-26-2019, 06:58 AM