PDA

View Full Version : Tips For A Newbie

NHLonghorn
03-15-2019, 07:32 AM
Hello All:

Have 11 trees tapped, hoping to do my first boil this weekend...would appreciate any advice relative to my approach as this is my first attempt and I want to make sure I enjoy it enough to invest $ and time into it in the future...I own 15 acres, have been cleaning it up for firewood and milling, leaving the maples and oaks mostly. I've tapped 11 maples close enough to the house as a start, unsure how many I have total on the property worth tapping as the property was heavily wooded when we bought it 5 years ago and many of the remaining maples are tall and skinny, under 12 inches in diameter as recommended for tapping. My guess, I'll have 20-30 to tap, should I continue. Thus, while tempted to spend 3-400 on a barrel evaporator, I'm going to stick with the turkey fryer I own, a nice deep fryer pan as a wider base, and a stainless pot on a rack over to warm. The base pan is 14 inches in diameter, the stainless pot about 10. How high should I fill the base pan? I have read that those who've used turkey fryers in the past, along with the tall aluminum pots that come with them, have stated they overfilled and took too long to bring to a boil, etc. Also, it would seem I do not need to fire up the fryer to full throttle...open to any and all tips and suggestions. I did buy a digital thermometer for the final cook off on the stove to get to 219 or 7 degrees over water boil temp, which I will double check here. I also plan to use the warm water tub for the propane tank trick. ;)

Thanks!

Jon

SmellsLikeSyrupNH
03-15-2019, 08:10 AM