PDA

View Full Version : Questions about small homemade evap pan

Dennis H.
10-05-2007, 12:56 PM
Howdy all, I am just getting started into this maple thing and have a few questions about a small homemade evaporater that I am planning on building.

The plan is to use a 55gal drum with a 20"x34"x6" deep pan on top, I found a local guy who will make me a pan out of 18ga SS for about $120, Is 18ga to heavy? would 20 or 22ga be better?

Since I will only be able to boil once or twice during the week and also on weekends, would I benefit from having a divided plan? And how does the syrup get from one section to the other? I haven't found any pics that show close ups of the dividers. Are there some sort of holes in them to allow the sap to flow through? Or would I be better off dividing the pan with a small front area for syrup and a larger rear area for adding sap? Or no dividers at all?

And once I get everything built and ready to fire what depth should I aim to keep the sap at? If my calculations are correct the pan would hold a little over 8 1/2 gals at 3" depth.

Sorry for so many questions at once, but thanks for any info anyone can give me.

Oh by the way, I am starting off with about 15 Red maples. If everything works out this year I might expand a little and add a few sugar maples that are located on my dads land.

Thanks again,
Dennis

The Sappy Steamer
10-05-2007, 01:16 PM