PDA

View Full Version : how much air should be in 3/16 line?

raptorfan85
02-15-2019, 05:44 PM
I built a shurflo system for this year. Its 3/16 line with 5/16 drops on a very flat area. I have 3 runs of 26, 22 and 12 taps for a total of 60. I put my taps in yesterday to get everything set up for the real season coming in about a week... this is my first year doing tubing or vacuum, so Im not sure what I should be looking for. It seems like I have a lot of air in the lines. I know some gas comes from the trees but how much? I walked the lines today and didnt see any areas where the bubbles were "racing". Seems pretty steady for the whole run. I know I have one leaky tap, bubbles coming out of the drop, but Im not sure what to do about that. Im putting a couple videos for people to see. Does it seem like a lot of air in the lines? Its pulling 15 hg with a recirculation line, which seemed fairly good to me. Whats everyones thoughts?

https://youtu.be/g--q9UzRcns

https://youtu.be/lubg1m7aurs

maple flats
02-15-2019, 06:31 PM
That close to a diaphragm pump may be changing how it looks, but in my 3/16 lines (which have mechanical vacuum on the mains) are often about 50/50. The sap might be about 2-3" long "slug" then about the same of air. They move along at a steady pace. In my 5/16 where they enter the mains thru a 14-18" long loop is near the same ratio but in those the sap is maybe 1'1.5" long, then about the same for air. In the 5/16 coming off the hill it can be different because the air can and does pass the liquid. The more that happens the longer each is as it goes thru that final loop to the main. In 3/16 the air does not pass the sap so depending on how fast the flow is the ratio may change but it is still a continuous procession thru the tubing.

raptorfan85
02-16-2019, 06:46 AM