PDA

View Full Version : Syrup depth

jbutton
02-12-2019, 10:23 AM
What does everyone use to measure depth in your pan. I have a sl hybrid pan and I see they are selling a sight glass can be connected from the float box or the draw off. Tia

littleTapper
02-12-2019, 11:57 AM
I looked at the prices of sight glasses, spit out my milk violently, and just made my own with some fittings and clear tubing. Before I fire up I fill the pan to the depth I want to keep and have two zip ties on the sight I set as high and low limit of where I want to run. Then it's simply making sure I'm in between those all day. Granted, I'm just a hobby producer. No float box, just a feed pan and this setup works fine for me. Rig runs nice and steady and I get consistent draws as long as I have enough to boil to draw :)

jbutton
02-12-2019, 12:14 PM
Do you have a picture of that setup

ennismaple
02-12-2019, 12:20 PM
We run 1" over the flues in the back and 2" deep in the syrup pan. The float in our syrup pan takes a while to react given the size of the pan so the extra depth keeps us from scorching it.

jbutton
02-12-2019, 12:39 PM
Ok so how do you measure that. My flues are drop flue

littleTapper
02-12-2019, 12:52 PM
Do you have a picture of that setup

Here's a pic I could find...

DrTimPerkins
02-12-2019, 01:04 PM
Just take care with small fittings/site tubes. Niter can build-up in the pipe before the tube and plug them, causing erroneous level readings (scorched pans anyone?). If you go this route, switch out the elbow right before the glass for a tee with a drain so you can open it every now and then to get rid of the sludge.

littleTapper
02-12-2019, 01:29 PM
Just take care with small fittings/site tubes. Niter can build-up in the pipe before the tube and plug them, causing erroneous level readings (scorched pans anyone?). If you go this route, switch out the elbow right before the glass for a tee with a drain so you can open it every now and then to get rid of the sludge.