PDA

View Full Version : Best method of bulk packing - mini containers

BSD
02-08-2019, 07:55 PM
I'm a small producer and last year i packed into the 20L blue totes from bascom. unfortunately i didn't keep them cool/frozen and seem to have lost a fair amount to spoilage over the course of the year. they were all hot packed at 180+. I dipped one tote and it's no good at the bottom. I have yet to go through the rest of them. I saw some from later in the season last year are still "sucked in". i'm hoping that's a good sign?

I'm trying to decide what i want to pack into this year. as i don't want to waste any more time or syrup going forward. my average boil produces 5-7 gallons of syrup usually. 15 Gal barrels seem to be too big. for now i ordered a few 5 gal epoxy cans to get started but not sure if that's the route i want to take.

Drew Pond Maple
02-08-2019, 08:38 PM
Are you using a bung wrench? Maybe the bungs aren't sealing? My first year using 5 gallon blue containers I tried using channel locks to tighten the bung, but didn't think it was tight enough. I got the right bung wrench and have since opened jugs that are 2 years old with no spoilage

BSD
02-08-2019, 09:02 PM
Are you using a bung wrench? Maybe the bungs aren't sealing? My first year using 5 gallon blue containers I tried using channel locks to tighten the bung, but didn't think it was tight enough. I got the right bung wrench and have since opened jugs that are 2 years old with no spoilagedo you store cool? mine were in the shack all summer and fear they might be cooked. (we got side tracked with a tornado this year and didn't get to process/sell much)

Drew Pond Maple
02-08-2019, 09:16 PM
All were stored in my cellar so fairly cool and stable temps. I had 2 that were two years old and no issues. I will say that my sugar house gets real warm in the summer months. Maybe it just got too hot in your sugar shack, or fluctuating temps caused some to spoil.

Drew Pond Maple
02-08-2019, 09:33 PM