PDA

View Full Version : Securing the stack without a sugar shack or wall to work with

Ntatar
02-07-2019, 08:58 AM
Tips or suggestions for securing my 6' stack on my 2x3 mason if I don't have a wall/sugar shack to work with? Mine is built on wheels so that I can roll it in and out of my garage. Thank you in advance for your thoughts! -Nick

Sugarmaker
02-07-2019, 09:10 AM
Maybe a 6 foot piece of angle iron position vertical next to the stack, attached at the base of your rolling evaporator? Then wire the stack to the angle iron support???
Regards,
Chris

Maple River Sugar
02-07-2019, 09:42 AM
My plan this year is guide wire the top and then attach to dog screws in the ground with a turnbuckle on it to adjust the slack. This is my first year.

maple flats
02-07-2019, 10:44 AM
A question relatd to the wheels on your arch. Do you have a way to adjust the level when you move the rig? If not, you could have issues if the level is off even 1/8". Even that can mess with the proper flow thru the pan. If no provision made, I suggest you check the pan for level and put a shim of some sort under the low side of the arch, then recheck. Ideally you want it 1/16" or less off level both side to side and front to back.
As far as securing the stack, your plan should be fine.

Ntatar
02-07-2019, 11:29 AM
Didn't realize it needed to be this level. Looks like I'll be spending some time finding a level sweet spot (hahaha) in the driveway for the best set-up.
Back to securing the stack, I read about locking the elbow joint into place using metal screws (3 per sleeve at the overlap). Anyone tried that?
I'd love to see pictures if someone figured out a good solution!

bushsitter
02-07-2019, 11:33 AM
Big Eddy suggestion of 3 guy wires hooked to cinder blocks works for me. Just watch where you are walking

http://mapletrader.com/community/showthread.php?12045-How-to-Building-a-block-arch.

jrm
02-07-2019, 11:34 AM