PDA

View Full Version : Sap from 2 different states

Crik
02-05-2019, 01:03 PM
I live on the NY/VT border and I have the potential to tap in both states. My sugarhouse is in NY. Can I market my syrup as NY and VT maple syrup?
In other words, can I bottle and sell the syrup made from NY sap in NY jugs, and the syrup made from VT sap in VT jugs?
I am new at this and I just don't know what the rule is here.

johnallin
02-05-2019, 02:24 PM
Not sure what the rule is, but my guess is that since it's not syrup until it's boiled...you'd market it as Syrup made in NY....or possibly Syrup made in NY with Vermont Sap.

Don't think you should call it Vermont Syrup. Kind of like buying Idaho potatoes and saying your french fries are Idaho Fries?

NH Maplemaker
02-05-2019, 05:08 PM
Can't speak for all state, but here in New Hampshire you can bring sap in from other states boil it and call it New Hampshire syrup! Just can't buy bulk and bring it here and call it New Hampshire syrup. Would think that would be the way it is most states.

Chickenman
02-05-2019, 05:52 PM
The regs I saw for NY as I understood it was, can only use up to 10% IF and Only if a certain grade can not be made for quantity needed. I'm a hobby guy so I'm not selling and it doesn't effect me. It sounds like you are collecting from each state and boiling them separate at one location. You have to prove that each run is from that state. Could be hard to prove. It will be interesting to see what other with the knowledge have to say.

Crik
02-07-2019, 05:44 AM
Thanks for the feedback. New York Maple Syrup it is!

stoweski
02-07-2019, 05:47 AM
Run two batches through. See if you can taste the difference. ��

What would be really interesting is if your mainline crosses the border into your sugarshack or collection tank!

Crik
02-07-2019, 12:33 PM
Stoweski, I may do that just out of curiosity! I do not have any lines crossing the border at this time, but it could happen in the future.

DaveB
02-07-2019, 01:11 PM