PDA

View Full Version : 3/16 laterals into 5/16

afretired
01-14-2019, 07:19 PM
This is my first year running 3/16 tubing. Today I ran 2400 ft of new 3/16 replacing the old 5/16. I have a small woods of about 7 or 8 acres with a valley starting and running thru the middle of it. With good drop of probably 30-40 ft. I ran the 3/16 in a zigzag pattern coming down the valley in several locations picking up 20 -25 trees then “T”ed them into a 5/16 and continued 300 ft to my tank farther down the valley. So basically picked up several clusters of trees, combined and then ran 3 - 5/16 lines from farthest areas to the tank and on those areas closest to the tank 3 - 3/16 laterals to the tank. I reutilized some old 5/16 line going to the tank. My question is: Will I get any vacuum in the 5/16 lines? My thought was 2 3/16 lines combined would fill the 5/16 line and generate vacuum. Or do I need to order a couple more rolls of 3/16 tubing and run each separate?

Bucket Head
01-14-2019, 09:07 PM
There is such a thing as natural vacuum with 5/16- I've done it- but it isn't constant and by the sounds of it you probably won't see it with your set up. For optimum performance of natural vacuum you'll want all those taps on 3/16 with the required drop below the last tap on each line, and then use 5/16 to take it to the tank if the slope isn't steep. I've found 3/16 on flatter terrain does not help things. And you will be creating resistance by running multiple 3/16 lines into one 5/16 line. Having them go to a "main line" and then to the tank is the way to go but you should put up actual main line to the tank.

Good luck this season!

Steve

bmbmkr
01-15-2019, 09:30 AM
Steve, I've read somewhere about how many taps- how much volume it takes to get that 5/16 naturl vac to work but I can't remember the numbers or find the dats anymore.