PDA

View Full Version : Sap Flow

BackyardMapleSyrup
04-10-2018, 08:52 AM
Hi All,

This would be my first pot on this forum. I am fairly new with this and its just a hobby for me. I live in Ottawa, Canada and I have only 2 trees. This year has been very good and I have enough syrup made not just for my family of 5 but also have some to give out to friends and family.

I have an observation. My trees are about a 100 years old. I have a sugar maple and a red maple. Both have 2 taps each. Yesterday the temperature during the day was 4 °C or 39.2 °F and the red maple was flowing and I got about 3 liters of SAP. However I got none from the Sugar maple. could it be because the season ran long that the Sugar maple has all its flow exhausted? Just wonder why when one tree is doing so well the other is sleeping :). There have been plenty of days when both tree ran and in one instance I have collected about 10 liters between the two trees in one day.

Any ideas why the sugar maple was dry when they other is doing so well?

Thanks

Dlee
04-10-2018, 12:26 PM
Its been the same with some of my trees to not sure why. At the end of the season the trees that weren't doing that great started to run good . But it has come to an end here for me have already started cleaning things getting ready for next yr.

BackyardMapleSyrup
04-11-2018, 01:56 PM
Thanks Dlee. I guess its the tress way of saying that's it from me :)

eagle lake sugar
04-11-2018, 06:24 PM
This has been a strange season for sure. Here to is April 11th and we've gotten very little sap yet. It's been cold and the snowpack is still 2.5-3 ft. deep. I'm hoping when it finally starts, it runs into May or this season will be a complete bust.

Msboucha
04-11-2018, 08:44 PM