PDA

View Full Version : Evaporator care and cleaning question

goldnut
03-31-2018, 06:09 PM
First off Im a rookie at this but really enjoy making syrup. I have made syrup in a flat pan for the past two years making small batches. Well, I pulled the trigger and bought a leader 2x6 evaporator. I have a lot to learn before next season!! OK to my questions. This unit is in very nice condition but I would like to clean the outside of it like new. You know....get the shine back. What is the best method to get this result? Also, what is the best way to clean the flue pan and syrup pan. I hope I dont wear out my welcome here to quick with all my future questions. Thank you for your help! Ken

Michael Greer
03-31-2018, 06:37 PM
So the outside is fairly easy...sugar is water soluble. Inside you'll have a mineral deposit that won't just scrub off and needs to be dissolved with something acidic. Let the chemistry work and don't get heavy handed and scratch the surface or it'll be even harder to clean next year. Finally there's the bottom where you'll have black deposits from the fire. Oven cleaner is awful stuff but it works. When you're all done rinse well and after it's dry, cover it up with a sheet so you won't have to clean it again next February.

goldnut
03-31-2018, 07:06 PM
Thanks for the help. I will get busy and post a pic or two!

maple flats
03-31-2018, 07:39 PM
Welcome to the Maple Trader goldnut. Ask all of the questions you want, someone will always answer. I'd give you a warning but it sounds like it's too late, you are already addicted. There is no cure.

goldnut
03-31-2018, 08:27 PM
Thanks for the welcome! How about a website question? Is it normal for the last post on a thread to go to the top of the page? I feel like im reading a book from the bottom to the top. Maybe I need to change a setting?

Sugarmaker
03-31-2018, 09:06 PM