PDA

View Full Version : First time Sugaring - Box Elder Trees

Smurphy0806
03-27-2018, 01:39 PM
Hi all -

We recently moved from the city and we have about 12 box elder trees that I thought I'd give it a try this year. I tapped 6. I have no idea how old they are. On the best day they gave me a gallon of syrup. I just boiled down 42 gallons to about 56 or so oz of Syrup. So about 80 to 1, which makes sense since I've read Box Elder has twice as much water. What doesn't make sense is that the syrup is actually darker than "regular" maple syrup. I thought it was supposed to be lighter according to my research. In addition, it tastes funny. Not burned. I watched the syrup like a hawk. There is no way we got over 219 degrees. (I'm in Wisconsin) It just tastes different. Is that because it is box elder? Or is that because this is my first time sugaring and home made syrup tastes different than store bought? It's not bad, just different. I'm actually quite disappointed.

I used Propane and a Turkey Fryer to boil down. I know that's a big no no, but this was an experiment and I wanted to try to use what I had so far.

Please give me some encouragement, I'm not sure what my next steps are. :(

2018 - 42 gallons sap - 56 oz syrup.

ecolbeck
03-27-2018, 06:24 PM
Sorry they things didn’t work out like you expected. A few ideas:

1. If I understand you correctly, you saved all the sap over the course of more than a week and then boiled it all in one session? If that is the case then I’m guessing the sap may have spoiled and may be causing the disappointing flavor. This would also account for the darker color.
2. Boiling past 219 does not burn the syrup. Certain maple products such as granulated sugar require boiling syrup past 260F.
3. Nothing wrong with Turkey fryers. Lots of people on these forums use them.

I would keep up the research and keep asking questions. There are a lot of good folks here who are happy to help. Good luck!

northwood
03-28-2018, 01:16 PM