PDA

View Full Version : Drawing off at 7 degrees

deckers007
03-26-2018, 09:54 AM
Just a quick question on how people draw of syrup from there evaporators? i have a 2x6 evaporator with a syrup pan with 2 dividers ( 3 channels) last year was my first year and i was under the impression that once your thermometer was calibrated and i was happy with the density of the syrup using a hydrometer, i would draw of when the thermometer hit 7 and stop when it started to fall. doing this at the end of the day my syrup was to heavy and it needed to be thinned out with sweet. So i started drawing of until the thermometer dropped to 4 or 5 degrees, doing this i found my syrup at the end of a boil was almost perfect weight.

SO my question is, is this normal? or should i drop my thermometer a degree or two and only draw off until temperature starts to fall?

Thanks

mol1jb
03-26-2018, 10:32 AM
I think part of it is where your thermometer is located. Mine is in my syrup pan about 10 inches from the draw off. So I start at the day drawing off at 7 into my hydrometer to confirm that my thermometer is right on for the day (or maybe a hair high or low depending on the weather). Then I start drawing off at 7 and then usually close off at 6 because my thermometer is so far away from the draw off. I think each rig is different and you will have to find what will work best for drawing syrup off.

tcross
03-26-2018, 10:32 AM
syrup will be at different temps on different day and even within the same day it can change. yesterday I started making syrup at 8 then by the end of the day 8 hours later I was making it at 6.5. I sue the 7 as a guide and test with the hydrometer each time I draw!

Urban Sugarmaker
03-26-2018, 10:47 AM