PDA

View Full Version : Was NOT Prepared!

OakFarm
03-21-2018, 04:43 PM
Total newb here with a hand-me down Leader Half Pint. Specs said 15-50 taps so I put 20...already have almost 200 gallons of sap since tapping on Sunday. I am a solo operator and definitely wasn’t prepard for handiling 200 gallons in 3 days! Anyone else having that ‘problem’?

OakFarm
03-21-2018, 05:47 PM
I notice I get more steam if I crack the front of the arch about an inch or so. Is this advisable?

BSD
03-21-2018, 06:05 PM
I notice I get more steam if I crack the front of the arch about an inch or so. Is this advisable?this is an indication your arch is starving for air. more air= more fire. Put a blower on it, if you don't have one already.

if you can't keep up with the sap either pull a few taps or start building a hobby size RO. if you're inundated with sap you're not going to have any fun.

maple flats
03-21-2018, 06:05 PM
Give it as much air as you can and add new wood every 7 or 8 minutes. Split the wood to wrist size, have dry wood and only fill the firebox to about 2/3 to 3/4 full. Use a poker to help keep the grates from plugging with ash and coals. Only have the sap 1" deep and then enjoy making syrup. At best you will get between 5-6 gal/hour evaporation, so be prepared to take about 35-40 hours to off that much sap to make syrup.
If you have 2% sugar in your sap it will take about 44 gal to make 1 gal of syrup, so you need to boil away 43 gal of water. Higher sugar takes less time and vise versa.

OakFarm
03-21-2018, 06:45 PM
Thank you guys sooo much! My grate is certainly plugged. I’ve only bee now keeping about 1/2” of sap in the pan. I’ve opened up the door completely and am going to poke it around and start removing the coals and ash and rebuild fire as you’ve suggested. Will now keep 1” depth of sap and hopefully that will help slow things down for me enough to catch up.