PDA

View Full Version : scorched or normal

miboss
03-19-2018, 08:55 AM
This is my first year boiling. I run a very conservative 3" deep in both pans. I took the opportunity to drain my pans after a 6 day break due to an extended freeze. After draining, I flooded the pans with permeate and made a small fire to warm it up a bit. I then wiped/scrubbed down what I could. The result has me questioning whether my pans are scortched or do I just need to clean harder?

Thanks,

Mike

tcross
03-19-2018, 09:05 AM
I've seen worse. I say clean harder... imo. I think if you let the permeate sit for a while it'll work better. I tend to use vinegar. put a few gallons in and get it to a simmer, then I add a 50/50 ratio of water to vinegar and bring it to a boil. if I have time, i'll let it sit over night and it usually wipes clean. if I don't have the time... scrub hard. a cedar shake, paint stick, and even flattened out copper helps on the really caked up parts.

Daveg
03-19-2018, 09:35 AM
I've seen worse. I say clean harder... imo. I think if you let the permeate sit for a while it'll work better. I tend to use vinegar. put a few gallons in and get it to a simmer, then I add a 50/50 ratio of water to vinegar and bring it to a boil. if I have time, i'll let it sit over night and it usually wipes clean. if I don't have the time... scrub hard. a cedar shake, paint stick, and even flattened out copper helps on the really caked up parts.
Hey, Mike!
THAT PAN IS NOT SCORCHED! Scorching happens when your syrup burns. What you have is a normal build-up of nitre and sugar .