PDA

View Full Version : End of season on a Smoky Lake hybrid pan

From the woods of Maine
03-17-2018, 12:57 PM
Hello,

I'm new to the mapletrader site and not even sure if I'm in the right place to post a question, but here it is. I invested in a shiny new smoky lake hybrid pan with auto fill float box and auto run off valve. It's pretty cool. My season is going to run short this year as a vacation is in order to the carribean. NEVER AGAIN DURING MAPLE SEASON!!! so I'm looking to get all the syrup I can from the pan. Once the sap is done running, what is the method to boil out the last of the syrup? do I add water to the float box so that the gradient moves through the pan to the outlet?

Michael Greer
03-17-2018, 02:31 PM
In answer to From the Woods, The method you described is often referred to as "chasing with water". I'm sure you can look it up on the site and read all about it. I prefer to close the gate and empty the back pan into buckets and re-fill (over-fill even) that pan with water. I then add the reserved liquid to the front pan a bit at a time until it's all in. This will get your back pan somewhat clean, allow the syrup pan to perform as designed, and draw off syrup in the normal way. Stop firing in time to assure that you don't over cook the last of the syrup pan, and after things have cooled, finish that last bit on the stove. After all of the good stuff is safely out of the way, you can dump a couple gallons of white vinegar into the pans, fill them to the brim, and build one last fire to heat it up. The mineral deposits will dissolve, and leave your rig pretty nearly clean.

maple flats
03-17-2018, 06:50 PM