PDA

View Full Version : End of season line question

Plutoman15
02-23-2018, 03:38 PM
This is my first year tapping and I am using a few 3/16 inch lines. What do you do at the end of the season? Pull the taps out and let them hang? Pull them out and cut them off the line?

Do you plug all lines both ends or let them open?

Buckets seem straight forward but I am not sure what to do with the trees I have on lines.

Any help is appreciated.
Joe

mol1jb
02-23-2018, 09:01 PM
Most will pull and wash the the tubing either with water or a cleaning solution such as hydrogen peroxyde and water. Then plug all parts of the line to help keep debris and insects out. I found on the leader line that keeping the taps on the drops will plug on the T better than just plain tubing.

Plutoman15
02-24-2018, 12:05 AM
Are you saying you take all the lines down or clean in place and plug?

mol1jb
02-24-2018, 04:44 AM
Are you saying you take all the lines down or clean in place and plug?

Clean in place and plug

but it all depends on your setup. Some don't like to leave the lines up all year and a few of us have such trouble with squirrels that if we do leave them up they will get all chewed up.

Plutoman15
02-24-2018, 07:03 AM
Ok, thank you.

What do you use to push cleaner through the lines? Suringe?

EBG18T
02-25-2018, 05:09 PM
There is also a process using an air compressor. Thats what I plan on doing the end of the season. I still have to figure it out though. Lol

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Haynes Forest Products
02-25-2018, 07:35 PM
This is what I know
Some cleaners attract critters so do your homework.
It sounds so simple but it ain't.
Liquid will take the path of least resistance.
just blowing air thru the lines will help but wont clean it all.
If you don't clean them its not the end of the world.
you don't need a 2" trash pump to try and force cleaner thru 3/16.
trying to push sap up hill thru 3/16 with all taps open will only clean the lower 30 taps.