PDA

View Full Version : 3/16 Vacuum Problem

Crowsap
02-21-2018, 05:22 PM
I have five 3/16 lateral's connecting to one 3/4" main line and they were all running really well today,(At least where they connect to the mainline). When I went to check my vac gauge's at the start (top) of each lateral they all read 0 vac? I have been told I have a blockage in a "T" fitting downhill from the gauge's. I did not walk the lines yet.The vac gauges are installed correctly. Would there be any other reason for this? This is my first year so very little experience.

Thanks

Haynes Forest Products
02-21-2018, 05:28 PM
Don't count the 3/4 line when it comes to the vacuum. What I mean is if your going 15 ft to the 3/4 and then down hill 30-50-60 ft to you tank you only getting the 3/16 worth of vacuum.

Crowsap
02-21-2018, 06:38 PM
Yup understood. My 3/16 lines are 500 plus ft long and tie into the mainline way down low closer to collection tank. I have 200 feet of drop from top to bottom with almost all of the trees 30 plus ft above the tank. Pretty steep grade.
Thanks for the reply.

wnybassman
02-21-2018, 07:37 PM
If they are running good, on that slope, you have vac. Seems odd all five all doing the same thing, that's too coincidental. Is there sap moving in the lines right near the gauges?

Crowsap
02-21-2018, 08:05 PM
I only had time to check 4 of the 5 gauges. The first 3 had no sap running at the gauge the 4th one was flowing really well but the gauge was at 0. I was on lunch break so didn't have time to check 5th gauge or walk the lines. All of them were flowing very well down low into the mainline. I guess I'll have to walk them from bottom to top to find where the potential restrictions are.

mol1jb
02-21-2018, 08:11 PM
Busted gauges maybe? I hear those 8 dollar vac guages arent super durable, especially if left in the elements.

Crowsap
02-21-2018, 08:19 PM
They are all new and I tested them before installing. Not cheap ones either.

Alex Davies
02-21-2018, 08:22 PM