PDA

View Full Version : South Central and South Eastern PA

Plutoman15
02-12-2018, 11:15 AM
How is the flow going in our area of Pennsylvania? Weather looks good until next week when it looks to stay above freezing for too long. Trees were mostly flowing really well yesterday and I am expecting a lot tonight.

I am new to sugaring so when does our area usually see the end of syrup season?

Joe

Evets
02-12-2018, 11:26 AM
Depending on the weather trend, we could go at least well into March I should think.
I checked my traps this morning and was pleased to find most of them about 3/4 full. They all were maybe 1/4 full when they shut down a week or so back.

Etown Maple Syrup
02-12-2018, 11:31 AM
Hi Joe, I put my taps in today. All 8 sugar maple trees. Yes, it's time and the flow should be good. I am counting on four weeks of flow from today. However, keeping the sap cold will be a challenge near the forth week to keep it from spoiling (think of it as milk), but not an issue if you boil right away. If there are three or more days in a row without an overnight freeze, the tap hole will dry out and the season will end. Keep records of your tapping adventures and syrup making so you can plan for next season. Notes are very helpful. FYI, I am in Elizabethtown, Lancaster, Pa. Have Fun!
Ross

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0cAiYDH7Ofo

Plutoman15
02-12-2018, 01:58 PM
Ross,
Starting Sunday, the forecast shows 4 days in a row that does not get close to freezing. Are you saying that will end the season for the currents taps?

Joe

Plutoman15
02-14-2018, 10:06 PM
I had my best night collecting sap. Even my dry maples are starting to drip. Sugar is really low though. One big open tree is at 2%, the rest are barely 1% so my average is just over 1%. I have a small RO system which will help a lot.

Anxious to see what one day of 60 degrees does. Half of my trees I think are still frozen. Tomorrow should thaw them out.

Joe

Plutoman15
02-15-2018, 01:34 PM