PDA

View Full Version : Zap Bac!

howrmare
02-05-2018, 12:57 PM
Just wondering has anybody used these? are they worth the extra money? Thanks for any input!

Mac640
02-05-2018, 01:43 PM
I've been using them for three years. They seem to work well. I use them on gravity tubing which I tap in February. The taps produce very well until I pull them at the end of the season, usually around the first week in April recently.

mountainvan
02-05-2018, 03:36 PM
I've used them since they first came out. I tap in January and get sap well into April as long as the weather holds.

mainebackswoodssyrup
02-05-2018, 07:09 PM
I think we'll try those next time we replace all the taps.

Mark B
02-05-2018, 07:45 PM
Actually have 100 ordered, and just waiting. I'm transitioning all my gravity runs to them.

blissville maples
02-05-2018, 07:57 PM
I've used them since they first came out. I tap in January and get sap well into April as long as the weather holds.

Do you use them for two years?? They say you can.
I haven't gotten any bc they never have them in, guess I need to order them in, however as a fan of colloidal silver I'd bet they work well. I am going to have to make a point to get some next year as this is the first I've heard and it appears positive

mountainvan
02-05-2018, 09:00 PM
I have used them for two years. Now I replace every year. An extra $5 of syrup per tap makes it a good investment.

to100
02-05-2018, 10:36 PM
What are they?

lewichuk19
02-06-2018, 03:33 PM
Spouts....go on YouTube and search 'zap bac', pretty interesting video on there

mountainvan
02-06-2018, 04:40 PM
Antimicrobial spouts. They increase your sap yield quite a lot.

Maple Man 85
02-06-2018, 06:25 PM
Back flow is part of the equation as well, without a check valve aren't you still introducing bacteria to the tree? Studies say more yield with Zap Bac which I can agree with but check valve spouts have similar results on a comparable replacement cycle.

S.S.S
02-06-2018, 07:30 PM