PDA

View Full Version : Tubing VS individual buckets.

Sugar Bear
02-03-2018, 06:02 PM
This year I did two sets of tubing runs into 30 gallon barrels. One run has 10 taps on it and the other has 6 taps on it. I also did 5 individual buckets.

The runs have absolutely no sags in them and excellent pitch.

So far in the first little run ...

The 5 individual buckets have yielded 12 gallons of sap.
The 10 tap tube run has yielded 10 gallons of sap
The 6 tap tube run has yielded 8 gallons of sap.

Should I expect better flow from individual buckets?

Am I missing something?

Stiets
02-03-2018, 07:36 PM
I am still learning myself. This is my first year on 3/16 tubing. I have 2 lines out. One with 25 taps and one with 17 taps. I usually have buckets tapped where the lines are. So far this year the tubing is pulling more sap then buckets would have. One line has 15" vacuum and the other 20" vacuum from the elevation drop. How much vacuum are you pulling on your lines or how much elevation drop do you have on your lines?? One other thing to consider is that it is still early in the season. Depending on the location of the trees the sap might run better in one spot than others. I see you are in CT, as am I by Danbury. The ground is still frozen is spots so hang in there and see what happens once the temps get better. What part of CT are you from??

82cabby
02-03-2018, 07:37 PM
This is a complete guess but i would say the buckets are better because the taps are fresh and also at these low volumes you don't have natural vacuum kicking in. I bet it reverses in March.

Sugarmaker
02-03-2018, 07:45 PM
Good question!
Hear is my 2 cents, with some questions.
Have you tapped these same trees before with buckets and recorded the amount of sap gathered?
I tapped my rented roadside sugar bush with buckets for several years before I tubed it. I had a pretty good idea how the trees ran.