PDA

View Full Version : Weather question vs sap run

Plutoman15
01-26-2018, 07:45 AM
Hello all,

This is my first year tapping in south central PA. I know the sweet spot is low 20’s at night and 40 during the day. Do you see much run if it is 28 low and 34 high or does it need to get warmer, bigger spread? How soon after the “perfect” swing of temps do you see sap and how long does it run if it fails to go below freezing for a few days.

This is the only chart I can find that shows sap run and temp swings.

Thanks everyone,

Joe

maple flats
01-26-2018, 07:55 AM
On gravity you generally will not get much if any flow at 34F. On the other end, 28 works but anything 27 or under gets better in my experience. The main thing at this point is that if you have had nearly as much cold as we have, those trees will need time to thaw. Some old timers used to go by the bare ring that develops around a tree, the sap won't flow good until those "donuts" appear. You might get some but it won't flow good yet. Of course that won't work if there is no snow cover to go by.

DrTimPerkins
01-26-2018, 09:04 AM
Some old timers used to go by the bare ring that develops around a tree, the sap won't flow good until those "donuts" appear.

Weird fact....the inuit (Eskimo) word for the snow "donut" around the base of trees is qamaniq