PDA

View Full Version : Woods Rats -Learning why ya'll hate em

buckeye gold
01-22-2018, 01:30 PM
I,m beginning too understand why ya'll (those with tubing) hate squirrels. This is my first year with tubing and so far I have been very pleased with the 3/16th. This morning I expected a pretty good run, but when I went to collect I had about a third of what I expected. I couldn't figure out why so this afternoon I walked lines. I just tapped Saturday and already squirrels had chewed two of my lines. One was chewed completely in two and the other half way. I ended up collecting sap off my fall tubing which i had planned on dumping, but it was clear so I used it. So a large part of my run ended up on the ground and my vacuum essentially gone.:mad: Some critter is gonna die if this continues. There will be retribution!

minehart gap
01-22-2018, 04:44 PM
Season on squirrels is still in here. I give young hunters $0.50 for every tail shot on or around my property as a donation to there ammunition fund. No shotguns allowed.

It’s crop damage or should be anyway!!!

maple flats
01-22-2018, 04:47 PM
Good luck getting it. Woods with nut trees are the worst. At my sugar house woods I get very few chew issues, but my lease that is 7 miles away, has just a few nut trees, that is worse by far. I used to have another bush, with lots of hickory trees, that was real bad. Had to fix squirrel chews almost every day. In woods with lots of squirrels try keeping the T a few inches from the tree, it helps some. There is also a SS woven sleeve you can use if nothing else works. Shooting is always a way to reduce the problem. Every squirrel in the pot is 1 less to chew the tubing.

mol1jb
01-23-2018, 08:09 PM
Ya I fixed quite a few chews on my 3/16 today from earlier this year. Currently most of the squirrels are dorment so I can hopefully get the rest of my lines in good shape this week

JoeJ
01-24-2018, 05:32 AM