PDA

View Full Version : I'm a newbie and really excited - 1st time poster

Pokegama Pointe
01-18-2018, 08:18 PM

For a guy who has NEVER done this, I'm stoked! All of you folks here have been my "vicarious mentors" so, along with what I have gleamed from you, Youtube, and some friends who are active syrup makers, I think I'm ready! As you look at my set up, anything I should have done differently?

Bucket Head
01-18-2018, 09:17 PM
Yes. You should have built two of those, or stretched that one way out. Why? Because everyone on here already knows your going to be adding taps in no time!

Nice looking rig. I wish I had something like that for my first rig. My first 'rig' was a bunch of cement blocks! Lol.

Good luck this season! Have fun!

VTnewguy
01-19-2018, 05:12 AM
You shouldn't need the top hat on the stack. Nice job she looks good.

barnbc76
01-19-2018, 05:14 AM
Looks really good, big fire box you got there, is that like 2x4? I'm sure you probably know how much adding a blower of any kind will help. Don't forget to spray paint it w/high temp paint.

Biz
01-19-2018, 05:33 AM
Looks awesome! Is it going to be set up outside? You should have a longer stack, try about 8 ft or so for this size rig to give better draw without needing a blower.

groomer_guy
01-19-2018, 07:42 AM
Looks great. My first rig was on cement blocks. Now I have upgraded to a sugarhouse and an evaporator. You should have a lot of fun making syrup.

Pokegama Pointe
01-19-2018, 09:04 AM
Thanks for your replies.

Blower? Longer stack? - sounds like I have more research to do this weekend. Tell me more on the reasoning behind this to get me going in the right direction of possible corrections. IS it that my fire wont burn hot enough? And, I see some set ups have a felt type wrapping around where the pan sits. Is that for heat loss prevention? Where does a guy buy something like that if I need it?