PDA

View Full Version : Using hardwood posts

Bricklayer
07-23-2017, 06:35 AM
I've been saving 4x4 hardwood lengths from work now for 3 years. They are mostly ash and oak. Probley about 9' lengths most of them. I was planning on making a couple harvest tables out of them but the tables would weigh a ton. I figured since I have enough, I could built my 14x20 sugar house with them. Post and beam style
Is using hardwood ok for this. I know it will be a lot harder to work with then pine or hemlock but my theory is why not. It's free. I also picked up some 12' 3x8 pine also left over at work that I will be using for the rafters.
It's a concrete slab on grade build also so none of the posts will be in the ground.

maple flats
07-23-2017, 07:43 AM
Oak will be hard to work with since when fully dry it is very hard, BUT it would last a very long time. Ash, easier to work and will last good if not in direct contact with moisture. Either will make a great post and beam sugarhouse.
You may want to isolate the bottom of the posts from the slab to minimize moisture transfer.

Bricklayer
07-23-2017, 02:14 PM
I will be putting 2 courses (16") of 6" concrete block on the slab all the way around. Then sill gasket and use the 4x4 posts for a sill plate. Notching the sill plate 2" every 4' to attach the posts to.
A friend of mines father was a carpenter and believed everything could be made out of oak. He made a trailer hitch out of oak for a trailer at his farm and it is still in use today. Probley 40 years old.

maple flats
07-23-2017, 08:35 PM