PDA

View Full Version : Cost to convert wood to oil fired evaporator 2x5

tgormley358
06-20-2017, 08:10 PM
Hi, i'm a newbie, got hooked last 2 years on wood-fired evaporators loaned by a friend. I'm going to keep at it and double my taps next year, to around 75, and it's time to buy my own equipment. I'm most interested in going to oil-fired to save time feeding wood, and want to be able to boil nightly during season in 2-3 hours, so I'm thinking i want a unit that can do 20-25 gph of sap. I don't see that many used, smaller sized oil-fired units on mapletrader, so i'm considering converting a wood unit to oil, and wondered if anyone could ballpark the cost to do that. I've gotten in touch with my oil guy but i'm not sure he has any experience with evaporators.

For comparison, i have a quote of $4,100 for an oil-fired Lapierre 19x48 Mini Pro, which is estimated to boil 17 gph. Thanks.

mountainvan
06-21-2017, 08:09 AM
I converted my 2.5x10 last year for roughly $1,600. I did all the work myself, plus had an oil tank and got another for free. $1,200 of that was the oil burner. You should be able to convert a small rig for much less.

maple flats
06-21-2017, 09:59 AM
I converted my 2.5x10 last year for roughly $1,600. I did all the work myself, plus had an oil tank and got another for free. $1,200 of that was the oil burner. You should be able to convert a small rig for much less.