PDA

View Full Version : First post + first batch of syrup

KJamesJR
04-01-2017, 09:01 PM
Hi everyone!

I've been snooping around these forums for a while now getting all the information I can on sugaring. I'm a new member. I'm also new to sugaring. This is my first year.

Last summer I closed on a property in NH. I have just under four acres of land and come to find... PLENTY of sugar maples. It all started this past summer during our house warming party when my father took notice of the big "mama maple" in my back yard. I say back yard because that's where most of the grass is. I call it mama maple because she sits by herself, is about 19" in diameter with a huge crown of foliage. A lot of little saplings spring up around her. I said to my father "that's a great looking tree right?" And he said "you should tap it". So that's how the story starts. Didn't think much of what he said then until late February when on my way home from work I witness folks putting buckets out. Then I thought to myself "I should tap it!".

Ended up tapping just seven trees in the following weeks. First I tapped the big maple and a few days later boiled about two gallons of sap. Got less than 1/4 cup of syrup or so. We ate it the same night. it was good. The next week had a few more taps out. Boiled down about 5 gallons on the grill... Which was a mistake because it took on a smoky, bitter flavor it was also quite dark. Ended up tossing it out. Decided the grill wasn't going to cut it. Now where did I put all those old cinderblocks?? One day my daughter was running around the back yard. Her little foot seemingly sunk into the ground, she fell and cried. Turns out there was an old barn there circa 1970's that collapsed and the block foundation was left behind buried in the soil. I dug them all out.