PDA

View Full Version : Lifespan of an Orlon Filter?

SeanD
03-22-2017, 08:24 PM
I suppose these should last forever, but it seems like my Orlon cone filter has become less resilient over the last few years. I've been using it for about ten years and I use 4-5 pre-filters on top of it. I've always given it a hot rinse between uses and a boil in clean water at the end of the season. I used to be able to get a whole boil with the last of the syrup usually passing through by morning.

Now, I've frequently got about a quart or more stuck even when it's hot and wet. The pre-filters are clear. It's all jammed up at the Orlon. I will say I'm asking more of it this year now that I have an RO and I've got 2+ gallons coming off per hour compared to the .75 to 1 gal per hour before the RO. I'm also using the optimizer rack which is probably saving my arse this season. I can't imagine how bad it would have been if I was using the cone the traditional way.

I've tried to give it extra long rinses and soaks in hot water and even a couple of mid-season boils in clean water. I have a brand new wool filter that I just used and it did not have any clogs.

Do Orlon filters have a life span? Is it time to say good-bye to it?

psparr
03-22-2017, 08:53 PM
Seems like you too have gotten a little too close. I think it's time to let her go. She's been good to you, but there's younger ones out there. And besides she won't get half the house if you leave.

buckeye gold
03-22-2017, 10:30 PM