PDA

View Full Version : Trailer Hitch Collection/ Collecting Roadside Maples

Milton
03-15-2017, 10:11 PM
Hi all,

I am just getting started in this hobby. I am contemplating tapping some roadside maples using drop tubes to 5 gallon buckets next year. I may also put 20-30 taps up behind my house if I get permission. I have a pickup to collect with but the payload is only 1400 lbs so I am limited there. I only need to haul 100 or so gallons at a time.

Has anyone come up with a trailer hitch collector that would keep the tank low enough that you could pour into without having to get in the bed?

I suppose another option would be a trailer, but I do not wish to buy one at this time.

Any other advice or ideas for picking up roadside sap would be appreciated - even if it is with larger amounts. Thanks, Milton.

Cedar Eater
03-15-2017, 10:44 PM
I've never seen a Hitch Hauler that can handle more than 500 lbs. 100 gallons is more than 800 lbs. You might have to pump from a 55 gallon barrel on a Hitch Hauler to a 55 gallon barrel or something larger in the bed.

Milton
03-15-2017, 10:49 PM
A few 55 gallon drums would probably suit my needs. What is the best way to get the sap up into the bed 5-10 gallons at a time.

Cedar Eater
03-15-2017, 11:34 PM
If you put a hitch hauler on your trailer hitch, you would have a lower vessel to pour buckets into. Maybe use a 30 gallon barrel for that. Then I would pump that into the bed with a 12 VDC pump like a Shurflo 4008 or something larger if speed was important.

SmellsLikeSyrupNH
03-16-2017, 09:08 AM
If you find an easy way please message me, I have 250 that I collect all by hand, 1 5 gallon bucket at a time. I load 9 5 gallon buckets onto my tailgate before I climb up and dump into my collection tank in the truck.

A few 55 gallon drums would probably suit my needs. What is the best way to get the sap up into the bed 5-10 gallons at a time.

Cedar Eater
03-16-2017, 09:37 AM