PDA

View Full Version : Hobby producer needs expert filtering advice

red gate maple
03-12-2017, 06:20 PM
I am a hobby producer managing 50 buckets and a 2x4 wood fired evaporator and need some advice on filtering. The sap goes through cheesecloth before going into the evaporator where I cook it to "almost" syrup. The syrup is finished, filtered and bottled in my home kitchen. I use a cone filter and paper liners. Should I filter as I draw off the evaporator or filter in my kitchen prior to bottling? I have been filtering in my kitchen after I get an acceptable reading with my hydrometer but then I have to reheat the syrup prior to bottling. Is is acceptable to filter my"almost" syrup as I draw it off the evaporator and be done with filtering? I would greatly appreciate some advice!

buckeye gold
03-12-2017, 06:52 PM