PDA

View Full Version : Syrup pan with auto draw drawiing 5 gal ata time

huntingken111
03-12-2017, 03:54 AM
My new setup this year is a 3x7 raised flue pan and 3x3 finish pan (has four compartment). I also added a Smokey Lake crescent auto draw to it. When I get to my desired temp it will draw (temp will go up 1 to 2 degrees) and draw off about 5 to 6 gallons. I was hoping to filter at time of draw but way to fast for that to happen. Then pan will finish refill and temp will drop to 215 degrees. Then the wait is on. Am I doing something wrong? The syrup is syrup according to hydrometer.

mellondome
03-12-2017, 05:38 AM
Are you allowing the draw off to go wide open? How deep are you running your front pan?

Trapper118
03-12-2017, 06:04 AM
This is my first year with a new system as well. Mine is a bit smaller, 2x6 also with a new auto draw. I was having the same issue. It was almost like batch boiling the syrup. I finally figured out that in this new system I was running the front pan too deep. I was at 1.5" when I was experiencing the "batching." Now I backed the front pan down closer to 1-1.2" and it seems to work much better.

Wanabe1972
03-12-2017, 07:15 AM
Your autodraw is not supposed to draw all the way to 215 . I'm pretty sure if your test the drawn off syrup it's going to be way under syrup. I have a 2x6 with auto draw and a throttle valve . When it draws off I adjust the flow to maintain the temp as close to 219 as I can. It will fluctuate from 218 to 220 but ends up being almost perfect in the end. Once i start drawing for the day my valve seldom shuts off (just runs a small trickle)and if it does it's only for a shot period. If I have enough SAP I've made 3 gallons an hour on the 2x6.

huntingken111
03-12-2017, 07:46 AM