PDA

View Full Version : Teacher's professional development day @ the shack

stoweski
03-09-2017, 06:12 PM
Hi everyone,

My short story. I've been making syrup for seven years now. Started with 50 buckets and an old 1/2 pint, now working with 250 taps and a 2x6, along with many other expensive equipment to help the job go smoothly. It's going great.

Anyway, in my spare time I'm also a middle school technology teacher. And we have an upcoming conference day. Part of the day will be broken into sessions for professional development, taught by fellow staff members. We submit a proposal and, once approved, start planning for the presentation. My thought was to have a small group of teachers join me in my shack for a "STEM in Maple Sugaring". In case you haven't been drilled in STEM already, that would be Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math. Of which there is a ton.

My question to everyone on this forum is, what topics would you consider presenting that teachers of those subjects might be able to use in their middle school classroom? I have quite a list so far but instead of posting would rather hear what comes to mind from you, without a list first. This would be anything for drilling the first hole to bottling the final drop. I don't have a ton of time to show them the operation and talk but if I could leave each department with five or so suggestions each that would be time well spent.

Thank you for any suggestions you can provide, and if you need more info let me know.
Keith

Cedar Eater
03-09-2017, 06:27 PM
Science would be how and why hydrometers work to show sugar percentage.
Technology would be channeling the sap to establish a gradient.
Engineering would be sap level control.
Math would be calculating cost per tap for different sized operations to guestimate how many decades it would take to break even. :D

SDdave
03-09-2017, 06:58 PM