PDA

View Full Version : Is there a easy way to tell if a 3/16 line is filled with sap or filled with void?

GV2
03-08-2017, 05:56 AM
I have a question about a potential blocked tee in my 3/16 line. This week's run just started last night. I have some bubble activity from my lowest 2 trees down to the collection which is a trickle, but no sign of life in the tubing between 20 trees upstream. Is there a easy way to tell if the line is filled with sap (i.e. blocked) or filled with just a void? I am not experienced enough (2nd year with tubing experimenting) to tell by the weight of the line. I would guess pulling/re-inserting a tap is a way to tell, or is that a no-no (e.g. tap will probably leak afterward)? I will probably replace the tee around where bubbles activity begins to see what happens next, but other troubleshooting advice is appreciated.

n8hutch
03-08-2017, 06:13 AM
Normally when I have had a plugged T the Debris was visible on the uphill side of the fitting, meaning that it didn't enter the fitting it got stuck on the outside of it. But I've only had 2 or 3 plugged fittings and you could see the Plug clearly each time.

BSD
03-08-2017, 06:13 AM