PDA

View Full Version : Stainless thread sealer

Bricklayer
03-01-2017, 09:16 PM
I'm having a real hard time getting the threads to seal on my stainless fittings for my auto draw off. It's all 1" stainless. I've tried teflon and lots of it. Tried the pink teflon, tried pipe dope. Is there anlyrhing else.

danielschauder
03-01-2017, 09:20 PM
Loctite 545 has sealed everything I've ever needed to. I've never used it on any of my sugaring equipment though. Is there a bad thread?

Bricklayer
03-02-2017, 04:00 AM
Threads seem ok. It just seems that they don't tighten up enough. Never had this before with stainless fittings. Usually with a npt thread it tightens right up before it bottoms out. These fittings will thread all the way in.

maple flats
03-02-2017, 05:47 AM
Being a retired plumber, I sometimes had a joint that leaked. If the SS goes on to the end of the threads I sometimes used both Teflon tape (the heavy gauge) and gave it an extra wrap or 2, then I'd brush on some teflon pipe dope too, but just a little. That combination usually works.

madmapler
03-02-2017, 06:28 AM
I went to one of Glen Goodrich's seminars a few years back and he said the only way to be sure was to use Teflon and dope together. Webbs sells a blue Teflon that's designed for stainless.

Bricklayer
03-02-2017, 01:16 PM
A plumber at work gave me a roll of pink teflon tape. I asked him if he had grey stuff for stainless and he looked at me like I had three heads. Told me pink was basically the same.?
Used the pink tape. And lots of it. Maybe 8 times around thread and put some thread dope on it also. So far it's holding boiling water. Hopefully it works. I figured I'd test it with boiling water since that's basically what it's going to be doing anyways.
If this fails I'm going to have to find some kind of sealant that will work like locktite or silicone that is ok to use at high temps and ok for food contact. Probley just be cheaper to buy new fittings.

SyrupHog
03-03-2017, 02:43 PM