PDA

View Full Version : Syrup in middle divider of syrup pan HELP

deckers007
03-01-2017, 09:56 AM
This is my first year on a Raised flue pan and i am thinking i am getting syrup forming in the middle section of my syrup pan.

I am running almost 2 inchs deep, test with a hydrometer when temp is close and draw off until temperature drops. But what i find is that about 3 - 4 minutes after my draw of my temperature spikes and faster that i can draw of and getting to thick of syrup drawing of, having me to mix some thinner syrup in until my finished product has the correct density.

So what i feel is happening is it is getting concentrated in the middle section or at the end of the last section and moving towards the thermometer after my draw off.

Does this make sense to anyone, and is there a way to establish a better gradient?

thanks

motowbrowne
03-01-2017, 10:25 AM
Yep, makes sense. Happened to me all the time on my 2x10. Usually only for the first draw of the day. What you need to do is draw off your first batch early. Since you know you have denser syrup in the middle draw off when it's still light and draw a big batch off. Draw off until most of the syrup from the middle section is at your exit valve. The other thing you could try is closing the float into the syrup pan, drawing off the light stuff and pour it into the middle. Basically you're just rearranging the sweet in the pan and putting it in the right place. Then reopen the valve from the syrup pan.

Also, some basic tips since this is your first year on a real cooker: if you have two doors, only open one at a time. No matter what, keep the doors open for the absolute minimum amount of time. Fire very often, every five minutes or less, but with a small amount of wood. This will keep your fire consistent and help maintain the gradient.

Good luck, hope that helps.

acafro
03-01-2017, 11:45 AM
Are you using defoamer? If so where and how much are you adding and how often?