PDA

View Full Version : syrup question

Barkpeeler
02-27-2017, 08:27 PM
Hi I'm new to this, first time, my question is I have what looks like a blob on the bottom of syrup when bottled, it doesn't look like sugar sand, laying flat on the bottom but more of a blob, I've looked and looked and can't find any answers to find out what it is, any ideas? Thanks appreciate any help!

Rock Cut Maple
02-27-2017, 08:57 PM
Sounds like an accumulation of sugar sand. It will pool up especially when cooled down sometimes. Post a pic. I am sure you will get quick accurate answers then most likely. What does it do when you touch it with a spatula or something?

Run Forest Run!
02-27-2017, 08:59 PM
Hi Barkpeeler, and welcome!

Sometimes the niter is very light and almost like a cloud floating in the syrup. It eventually settles on the bottom and looks 'fluffier' than what you might expect. Does that sound like what you are seeing?

Barkpeeler
02-27-2017, 09:25 PM
I'll try and post a pic, a blob is more what it looks like, like a lava lamp, thanks for the answers

SSS2017
02-28-2017, 07:33 AM
I'll try and post a pic, a blob is more what it looks like, like a lava lamp, thanks for the answers

Definitely sugar sand(niter). I'm a rookie at this but I know exactly what you're talking about. Until I got my steam pan for finishing I had the same issue no matter how good I filtered. Once I got my steam pan and was able to regulate the temp to 185 while bottling I have had no more niter blob issues.

Barkpeeler
02-28-2017, 04:51 PM
I do believe everyone is right, its been a couple of days and its mostly settled down, a couple still have a little fluff but looks like its a settling down, we're just rookies at this so all the help is appreciated! Thanks again

Galena
02-28-2017, 04:53 PM