PDA

View Full Version : Changing Sugarbushes

Cedar Eater
02-26-2017, 11:06 PM
My wife and I have reached the age where our current house is becoming less and less ideal for us each year. It's time to serious take steps toward a change. We're heading into our sixties and we have another place in mind. We already own the land. I've been hunting there for 25 years. We'll hopefully sell our house for enough to build a new more suitable house there. But that means leaving our sugarbush. We have approximately 150 tappable red maples here, but many of them are not practical for tubing. If we collected from all of them, which would be an awful lot of work, we could maybe make 30 gallons of syrup per year. We're not interested in working that hard or moving that much sap or syrup. Maybe the next owners will be. But we only started making maple syrup three years ago and we don't want to stop.

So where am I going with this? We have a little break in collecting sap and boiling it down because the weather cooled enough to stop production. So we went to our other property today to assess its value as a hobby-scale sugar bush. I knew that we had a few decent sized maples, reds, silvers and freemans. But in order to feel comfortable about starting down the path of moving there, we wanted to verify that we had enough. So we took about a roll and a half of flagging tape to mark trees and find where they are concentrated. As the pic shows, this land is flat, brushy, and wet. We won't have the slope that we have at our current sugarbush, so it will only be buckets, bags, or drop tubes into containers or, where they are sufficiently concentrated, pumped vacuum lines with battery powered pumps.