PDA

View Full Version : Slightly Burnt Syrup Pan

Flatfoot95
04-05-2007, 09:05 PM
Was boiling everything down tonight to drain my pans for the upcoming cold snap. Suddenly there was smoke starting to come from one of the middle channels of my syrup pan. The levels in the float compartmens were fine running about 11/4 in. There were a lot of bubbles when this happened don't know if that had anything to do with it or not. I am a little baffled as to why this happened. Any ideas? Fortunately there was only some burnt areas on the solder in the joints. Cleaned up well and no warping.

Dave Puhl
04-05-2007, 10:10 PM
I am no expert ..my new 2x6 this year did the same but no burn ..uneven fire in the box to hot in the center maybe...did you have a gradiant before this happened if not...each compartment should be darker than the next going to the syrup side..I had a ordeal not watching it close..the temp said 220 plus , and I went to draw and only a dribble came out I had to reach around and push the float down to get more sap coming in finally it pushed the syrup to the draw off side...did you really have an inch or more in the pan...another ordeal was the float stuck and I only had a 1/4" in the syrup pan ..that was a close one too...

Flatfoot95
04-05-2007, 10:37 PM
There is no doubt about having atleast an inch in the pan. I was actually standing right over it when it happened. I was thinking that maybe when my brother started it he didn't reverse the sugar and maybe I had a build up in the middle.

WF MASON
04-06-2007, 03:10 AM
If its foaming up, it an't in the bottom of the pan boiling. Chances are it went past syrup in the center section before your drawoff. The guy in CT. who won the 'worlds best' syrup award , maybe twice, has an thermometer fitting in each of his four compartment. The two center fittings are welded in on an angle in the face of the pan. He can check his thermometers to see whats happening in the center. Not a bad idea.

Fred Henderson