PDA

View Full Version : Fire tips for a mason 2x3

koliver
02-20-2017, 05:16 PM
I just finished bricking my new mason 2x3 over the weekend and plan to boil on Friday and Saturday.
I'm new to wood fired, as I have been using a turkey fryer for the last few years. I've learned from the threads so far that I need to try to consistently stoke the fire every 5-8 minutes. I've also read that my splits should be about the size of my wrist. If that is true, I have some splitting to do. My wood pile has a variety of wood in it. Will this pose a problem?

Any tips on starting the fire? Do I just make the fire on the grid or a larger area?

Thanks,
Kyle15550

motowbrowne
02-20-2017, 06:18 PM
I haven't seen your firebox, but nothing too special about cooking with wood. Start a fire and once it's going keep adding wood. Keep it almost full all the time. Not jam packed, but almost full. The smaller you split your wood, the faster it'll cook. An even consistent fire is best. Adding two pieces every 3 minutes is better than 4 pieces every six minutes. Burning a variety of wood is no problem. Minimize time with the door open. If you have two doors, only open one at any time when adding wood. Don't forget defoamer.

Hope that helps a little.

Person25
02-20-2017, 06:22 PM
Hello,