PDA

View Full Version : Turning down bulk tank temp

markcasper
02-18-2017, 09:04 PM
I have access to a working bulk milk cooler and cannot figure out how to turn down the temp to cool concentrate. Its a 735 gallon Sunset flat top. There appears to be a thermostat of some sort on the back of the tank, but no knob or dial to adjust. There is 2 gauge looking things on the compressor with 2 tiny red needles that can be adjusted up or down with a screw driver, nothing happened when I played with these. Also nothing happened when I hit the manual button on the tank. The tank runs and was in use until last November, just need to know how to get it turned down to cool to 30 degrees instead of 40. Thanks

Bucket Head
02-18-2017, 09:41 PM
I'm no refrigeration expert, but on my Mueller 500 gal. flat top there is a dial with the temp. scale thats adjusted with a screwdriver. The temp. was turned down to 35 on mine with that. The manual button may be for the agitator motor, not anything with the temperature setting.
Maybe its low on refrigerant? Maybe it can only get down to 40 because of that? I found that it pays to have a dairy refrigeration service look things over and make repairs. Nothing annoys more than having warm sap when its supposed to be cold sap.
Good luck with it. Let us know what the issue ends up being.

Steve

markcasper
02-18-2017, 10:15 PM
Maybe its low on refrigerant? Maybe it can only get down to 40 because of that? I found that it pays to have a dairy refrigeration service look things over and make repairs. Nothing annoys more than having warm sap when its supposed to be cold sap.
Good luck with it. Let us know what the issue ends up being.