PDA

View Full Version : Help getting higher evaporation rate

gatzow
02-16-2017, 06:12 AM
I bought my first wood burning evaporator this year. Moved away from propane turkey fryers. This is what I bought.

http://www.rothsugarbush.com/product/wood-evaporator-the-classic/

Advertised as 10-15 gallons per hour burn rate. I used it for my first time yesterday and averaged about 7 gallons per hour once I got it up, hot and boiling. I thought early on that I simply had too much sap in the pan, but as it dropped to an inch or two, the evaporation rate didn't really change. Still was around 7.5 gallons.

I am only in my 3rd year at this, I am still learning lots. Anyone have any ideas as to how I get closer to that 10 gallons per hour mark? That 2.5 gallons per hour means a lot to me base on the 60 taps that I have this year.

Thanks for thoughts.

psparr
02-16-2017, 06:43 AM
Dry wood cut to wrist size and fire every 6-7 mins. Keep the air vents wide open and fire it hard and you should be ok.

RileySugarbush
02-16-2017, 06:56 AM
Does it have a grate? It's critical that combustion air comes in low and goes up through the fuel.

If it is one big firebox, that is a limitation as well. About half way back the firebox should end and the exhaust moved up and concentrated to flow right under the rest of the pan.

Woodsrover
02-16-2017, 08:20 AM
....but as it dropped to an inch or two, the evaporation rate didn't really change.....

How much sap are you running in the pan? I try to keep mine not much more than 1/2" deep.

Small, dry wood added often.

psparr
02-16-2017, 08:24 AM
Your a brave man woodsrover. I run down to a 1/4" or less when I shut down to drain the evaporator but it's 3/4" for me.

littleTapper
02-16-2017, 08:54 AM