PDA

View Full Version : Honda wx10 versus Honda wx15

Florio79
02-15-2017, 07:57 PM
Hi I really appreciate all the great info on this site! Lots of great info on Honda pumps too. I am relatively new to the hobby with 40 taps and am looking to get a pump that I'm also going to use for flooding ice rinks... I am likely going to try and expand in the future and am thinking it may be nice to pump up to my sugar shack... However it would be about 800 ft with a steep 75 ft hill from my collection tank... With that much hose I'm not sure it would be realistic to pump that far or whether the wx15 could handle it.... Another option I may look at if I grow is to pump from a collection tank up the 75 ft hill to a transport tank. When I say grow I can't imagine more than 150 taps....

I can get a used wx10 for $250 or a used wx15 for $300.... I'm afraid the wx15 might be too much pump... But also think it may be better for me to pump up my hill.... Currently I'm using 50 gallon drums with 40 taps.... The pumps don't come with any attachments or hose. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Thank-you!

psparr
02-15-2017, 09:20 PM
One thing to think about when pumping that far is the amount of sap left in the line when the collection tank is empty. A smaller line will take longer to pump, but you won't have 30 gallon coming back down the hill after your done.

Maplewalnut
02-16-2017, 04:11 AM
You cant make a wrong decision. I have the wx10 and it is more than enough pump for me and I pump everything about 50ft in elevation about 120 or so feet. As you allude to it has many uses and I too have put a fresh smooth layer of ice on sections of our pond using the pump, lent it to friends to drain swimming pools etc. Great pump

maple flats
02-16-2017, 07:26 AM
Either size will do it but as for the used pump, are you absolutely positive that pump has only been used for sap or potable water, nothing else? I wouldn't chance a used sap pump where I didn't know it's history.