PDA

View Full Version : Learning to run a divided pan

Person25
02-07-2017, 08:42 PM
Hey guys,

I've been making syrup for about for about 20 years so I'm not exactly a newbie at the process but I have some questions I want to ask the panel, as I am always trying to learn and progress. So to give a little background...

For many years I batch boiled in a 10 gallon pot from the early 1900s over a 55 gallon drum firebox. I have about 30 taps in most years. I only have time to boil on the weekends so I collect sap all week, store it cool and usually start my boil Friday after work and keep adding and burning until I've run out of sap which is usually about 2% and about 100- 150 gallons of sap, usually would take me all night Friday, Saturday and part Sunday to finish. Terrible boil rate I know. I can finish it in the pan then I then filter and move inside and finish on the stove if need be, but usually just have to reheat and bottle.

A few years ago and as I get older and have less time to spend sitting around the fire I purchased a 2x3 mason arch and pan with preheat her pan. After two years I haven't realized the full benefits of a divided pan and it's frustrating me a bit. The box is insulated with firebrick it runs much more efficiently than the old way but still not to full potential and I've yet to figure out how to draw off near syrup so now the questions start

1. In this size pan what depth should I be running? The mounted thermometer requires about 3/4 inch to stay under sap level so I assume at that level is correct.