PDA

View Full Version : New masonry gasification arch build.

Stoneduester
01-21-2017, 09:47 PM
Hi All, I am new to this forum, I have been observing for a few years now, but am just now posting. I am about to start a new arch, and thought that I would share my design ideas, and hopefully post progress shots of construction, as well as observations on its performance.

A quick bit about myself, I am a masonry contractor living in northern Vermont. I recently relocated back to the property that I grew up on, which has a formidable sugarbush behind the house. There are an estimated 325 taps back there, the farmer neighbors have been tapping them for as long as I remember (30+ years), but they are amenable to me "taking back" 50 or so taps to work myself. Over the years I have been paying close attention to masonry heaters and such, and have been paying close attention to the nature of combustion, and firebox designs. I have been mulling this particular design over in my head for a while, and just recently committed it to paper (Sketchup, actually).

The general philosophy of this design is to create a firebox that effectively gets hot enough for pyrolisis to occur, then administer preheated secondary combustion air directly below the pan, and as far forward as possible. My illustration shows a baffle above the firebox that kicks the gases forward, just above which is a cast refractory hump that has a bunch of small orifices in it. I figure that if I can mix the gases at this point, complete combustion takes place where it matters most.

I will do a little walk through of the design from the bottom up;