PDA

View Full Version : Plumbing head tank to evaporator

mspina14
12-26-2016, 06:31 PM
I spent this afternoon plumbing my 240 gallon LaPierre head tank to my Mason 2X4 XL evaporator.

I've never done this before, so comments are welcome.

Tank is outside sugar house on a raised platform.

So I ran a 2 inch PVC pipe from the drain on the head tank through the sugar house wall. I included a ball valve on the pipe between the tank and the wall in case I needed to turn off the flow from outside.

On the other side of the wall, I added a "T" for a sight tube, and another ball valve so I could turn off the flow from the inside of the shack:

I added a metal elbow to the float tank and connected the PVC pipe to the float tank with a flexible 3/4" PVC tubing.

I will fill the tank with water tomorrow and try a test boil.

Let me know what you think.

thanks

Mark

wnybassman
12-26-2016, 06:44 PM
How much drop is there from where is comes through the wall, to the float valve? Looks to be about a foot?

n8hutch
12-26-2016, 06:46 PM
I'd say that you did a fine job.

mspina14
12-26-2016, 07:13 PM
How much drop is there from where is comes through the wall, to the float valve? Looks to be about a foot?

The drop from the pipe to the float value is about 9 inches or so.

Hard to see it from the above photo.

From what I've read on here, that seems like enough of a drop for a good flow.

But the test boil will tell....

Mark

wnybassman
12-26-2016, 07:23 PM
The drop from the pipe to the float value is about 9 inches or so.

Hard to see it from the above photo.

From what I've read on here, that seems like enough of a drop for a good flow.

But the test boil will tell....

Mark

I don't think you'll have a problem. Everything looks great! I love that tank :)

mspina14
12-26-2016, 07:27 PM
Thanks.

We've come a long way from boiling sap on the kitchen stove!

Mark

VTnewguy
12-27-2016, 06:41 AM