PDA

View Full Version : Isolating non-producing tree from tubing system

mspina14
12-23-2016, 09:47 AM
I'm a hobbyist that will be installing tubing for the first time this season.

I will be running 5/16" tubing from a Lunchbox diaphragm pump to about 100 Reds on 5 acres. The Reds are between 10"-40" in diameter. I've tried tapping a few of the Reds in the past with buckets, but never got more than a quarter bucket in a season. I'm hoping they will run on vacuum.

I will run about 4-5 lines from the Lunchbox. Each 5/16' line will have about 15-25 taps over a 200'-500' distance with little to no slope. I'd have a 5/16" tap and drop line connected from each tree to the 5/16" line via the traditional "T" connector.

I was thinking in the shower this morning (always think about maple sugaring in the shower, not a good sign ;)) what to do if any of the Reds that are connected to the 5/16" line don't flow sap for some reason.

How would I isolate that tree from the 5/16" line it is connected to? Do I need to remove the "T" from the line and install a straight connector? I don't want to lose vacuum on a tree that doesn't run. I'm using a "T" that has a plug to hold the tap in the off season. But not sure if this plug would leak with the tap connected to it with the vacuum running.

Is there such a thing as a "plug" to place into a tap for a non-flowing tree to prevent vacuum loss?

Thanks for any help.

Mark

Woodsrover
12-23-2016, 09:51 AM
With a pipeline, its going to be hard to tell which trees are good producers and which are not.

tcross
12-23-2016, 10:39 AM
I don't think you'll get a whole lot of vacuum with a 5/16" "main line". but as far as isolating off the a non productive tree... I have a couple dying trees I just left the drop line plugged into the "t" and didn't loose vacuum. or just leave it in the none productive tree. as long as the tree isn't hollow you should be ok. or as you mentioned, put a straight connector in.

Wanabe1972
12-23-2016, 11:11 AM