PDA

View Full Version : IBC Tote Questions

wnybassman
12-05-2016, 06:13 PM
I am new to totes, but have used a dome truck tank for several years so I know the downside of plastic containers and how hard it is to clean them, and keep them clean. It will be used as a collection point for a couple years for six or seven 3/16ths lines that will go directly to the tank. Once I upgrade my pump, and am able to obtain a milk tank or a round bottom SS tank, I will move the collection point further down the hill.

The tote I have was used for canola oil. I researched quite a bit before tackling the cleaning. Three evenings in a row I dumped a little water in it and did a Dawn detergent scrubbing and rinsed each time. Then I power washed it pretty good to rinse. Then I half filled the tote on the truck and put in powdered dishwasher detergent. I let that slosh around for a couple days. Drained that out tonight. There is zero oily residue left, and the tank smells way better than the new truck tank I bought years ago. Half filled it back up tonight and put baking soda in there to cut the detergent. In a couple days I'll drain that and put straight water in for a rinse down, then power wash it one more time. Not sure how much more I can do than that.

I am thinking I want to get this tank in the woods asap because I still have vehicle access right now. Once snow arrives, it will have to be slid down the hill about 200 feet. I don't want any nasties to grow in the tank between now and syrup season, and I know how these tanks act as a greenhouse with any kind of warmth and sun. Will simply covering the tank with a tarp drastically cut down on the greenhouse effect? Something better I could do? Should I bother getting it there now?