PDA

View Full Version : 3/16 taps

calvertbrothers
09-28-2016, 07:00 PM
I have 600 3/16 taps and I was wondering if I should go to the 5/16 taps I have 1100ish taps on vac and last year my best run was 800 gallons in 10 hours. I'm still learning the vac game so i don't really know if that's good or not. When I was washing lines there was a lot of wood shavings stuck in 3/16 taps

Maple Man 85
09-28-2016, 07:47 PM
Any chance you tapped with a dull bit and that's why you had so many wood shavings?

Maple Man 85

calvertbrothers
09-28-2016, 08:05 PM
Any chance you tapped with a dull bit and that's why you had so many wood shavings?

Maple Man 85 No I buy new bits every year and I have a few of them

Cody
09-29-2016, 05:35 AM
Are they tapping bits or auger bits?

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
09-29-2016, 09:36 AM
If you are using a tapping bit and tapping correctly you shouldn't have issues with wood chips/shavings in the tubing. Good tapping bit takes about 1.5 seconds to go in and out of a hard maple 2" deep and should bring shavings with it. Will be times you might leave a small piece or 2 in in but not very often.

n8hutch
09-29-2016, 09:47 AM
Shavings are a bit of a problem with 3/16 tubing. Because of the vaccum created by the tubing all it takes is a small clump of Shavings to plug up the lines at a fitting.

This makes tap hole drilling even more important. Best thing to do in my opinion is to tap when the sap is running a little bit and let the sap push the Shavings out of the hole before you put the Tap in. This can be accomplished before the sap really starts running for the season.

If you can't wait because you have lots of taps or it just happens to be that you have free time on a winter day them use some kind of a stick or tool to clean your hole out if you are unsure of how well it drilled. Let's face it every hole isn't perfect.
Never blow into your taps hole.

calvertbrothers
09-29-2016, 10:54 AM